Surat session of Congress (1907 AD)

Surat session of Congress (1907 AD): This session was held on December 26, 1907 in Surat on the banks of the Tapti river. In this session, the Congress was clearly divided into moderates and extremists.

The extremists wanted to make Lala Lajpat Rai the president of the Congress, while the moderates wanted Ras Bihari Ghosh to be the president. Eventually Rasbihari Ghosh became the president.

The center of controversy was Rasbihari Ghosh who was elected the president of this convention.

Bal Gangadhar Tilak

The Indians used to call him Lokmanya. Valentine Chirol, the author of Indian Unrest, considered him the father of Indian unrest. He remained a moderate until the end of the 19th century, but became an extremist in the early 20th century. He established the Home Rule League in 1914 AD. Extensive Public Relations: 1. Ganpati Utsav (1893), 2. Shivaji Utsav (1895). He wrote a book named Gita Rahasya in Mandalay Jail (Burma).

Lala Lajpat Rai

Lala Lajpat Rai, popularly known as Punjab Kesari, was a college leader of the Arya Samaj. He became a militant leader in the early 20th century and played an important role in the anti-partition movement. Due to which the British sent him to Burma jail in 1907 AD. He was the editor of a newspaper named Punjabi and the author of the book Unhappy India. In a protest against the Simon Commission, he was injured and died.

Vipin Chandra Pal

Vipin Chandra Pal, popularly known as the father of revolutionary thought in India, was a member of the militant triumvirate of Lal-Bal-Pal. His journalistic life started with the editing of Paridarsak (weekly) and later became co-editor of Bengal Public Opinion and Tribune. New India was published in 1901. Vande Mataram whose publication started in 1906 AD by the editing of Aurobindo Ghosh and Pal.
After his imprisonment (March-August 1908), there was a change in his political views during his exile in England (1908-11).

Surat session of Congress in Hindi

यह अधिवेशन 26 दिसंबर, 1907 ई. को ताप्ती नदी के किनारे सूरत में संपन्न हुआ। इस अधिवेशन में कांग्रेस स्पष्ट रूप से नरमपंथियों व गरमपंथियों में विभाजित हुई। उग्रवादी लाला लाजपत राय को कांग्रेस का अध्यक्ष बनाना चाहते थे, वही उदारवादी रास बिहारी घोष को अध्यक्ष बनाना चाहते थे। अंततः रासबिहारी घोष अध्यक्ष बने। विवाद का केन्द्र रासबिहारी घोष थे जिन्हें इस अधिवेशन का अध्यक्ष चुना।

FAQ: Surat session of Congress

Q. Where was the Surat session of the Congress held?

Ans. On December 26, 1907, on the banks of the Tapti river

Q. When was the Home Rule League established?

Ans. He established the Home Rule League in 1914 AD.

Related Post:

Partition of Bengal (1905 AD)

Harding Bomb Case (1912 AD)

Partition of Bengal (1905 AD)

Partition of Bengal (1905 AD)

Mahatma Gandhi history in hindi (1869 –1948)

गांधी जी की जीवनी: Gandhi Ji Ka Janm Kab Hua

Leave a Comment